8:17 am
Thu July 10, 2014

Senate candidates reveal finances

Terri Lynn Land

LANSING, MI (AP)--   The campaign of Republican Michigan U.S. Senate candidate Terri Lynn Land says it

raised about $2.15 million from donors in the latest quarter and got an additional $1.2 million from Land herself. Democrat Gary Peters says his campaign raised $1.95 million. 

Federal law requires U.S. Senate candidates to report their finances for April through June by next Tuesday.

Peters spokeswoman Haley Morris says his campaign has raised $3.3 million so far this year and $6.7 million in all.

Read more
9:40 am
Mon July 7, 2014

Primary election registration deadline Monday

LANSING, MI (AP)--   Michigan residents have reached the last day to register to vote in the August primary election. 

Secretary of State Ruth Johnson reminds voters that Monday is the deadline to register for the Aug. 5 primary. The process is open to U.S. citizens who are at least 18 years old by the election and residents of the Michigan community in which they seek to register.

People can register by mail or in person at any Secretary of State office or at their township, city or county clerk's office.

Polls on Aug. 5 will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Read more
9:26 am
Wed June 11, 2014

Ryan running against Ryan in Wisconsin

Jeremy Ryan
Credit wkow.com

MADISON, WI (AP)--   A well-known protester who says he's running against U.S. Rep. Paul Ryan because

they share a last name will be allowed on the ballot. 

Wisconsin's elections board voted Tuesday to certify Jeremy Ryan for the ballot.

The Wisconsin Republican Party had challenged Jeremy Ryan's nomination papers, saying he should be kicked off the ballot for misleading prospective voters into thinking they were signing up to legalize marijuana.

Read more
8:17 am
Fri May 2, 2014

May 6 election results

The following issues are on the May 6 ballot in the Upper Peninsula for the WNMU-FM listening area: 


One seat on the Munising City Commission

Rod DesJardins -- 32

Douglas Mason -- 16


In addition to the authority granted to the City Council to sell the Power Plant for continued plant operations, shall the City Council be authorized to dispose of the Power Plant equipment and assets including up to the 40 acres of real property where said assets are located? 

Yes -- 509

Read more
10:44 am
Mon April 7, 2014

New law clears up election rules

LANSING, MI (AP)--   Lieutenant Governor Brian Calley has signed bipartisan legislation that clarifies election procedures and protects a voter's personal information.  

Clerks are prohibited from disclosing the last four digits of a voter's Social Security number for Freedom of Information Act requests.

The new law also set rules for certain petition circulators and clarifies candidate filing deadlines for vacant offices. People who sign a candidate's nominating petition also must write the date and their address.

Read more