Most Active Stories
- Reed responds to her firing as NMU student newspaper adviser
- North Wind Board issues statement about controversy
- Journalists' group calls for advisor's reinstatement at The North Wind
- The Psychology of Music in Multimedia: An Interview with NMU Professor Mark Shevy
- Two-car crash in Chocolay Township claims man's life
Tue October 1, 2013
Sex offender registration on
LANSING, MI (AP)-- The quarterly verification period for Michigan residents convicted of sex offenses gets underway Tuesday across the state.
It lasts for 15 days.
State police say so-called "Tier 3" offenders are required to report their current address to a local law enforcement agency, sheriff's office, or State Police post.
The Michigan Sex Offender Registration Act requires Tier 1 offenders to verify their address annually, during the first 15 days of January.
Tier 2 offenders must verify their address semi-annually, during the first 15 days of January and July.
Tier 3 offenders must verify their address quarterly, during the first 15 days of January, April, July and October. Failure to do so carries a penalty of up to two years behind bars.